asfenofficial.blogg.se

Quiplash characters
Quiplash characters












quiplash characters

Maybe sitcom writers line up the jokes like this because they're afraid they won't have another chance to tell them? I guess I can understand that.īut there's something to be said for letting a joke breathe. I do that when I'm afraid I'll never have another solid story idea. Sort of like when I try to work a million ideas into one story. To me, it comes off as a little try-too-hard.

quiplash characters

The next quip has come and gone before I've had time to realize that I was supposed to be laughing at the first. There's no room to breath, no time for a joke to settle. But for me, it feels like being pummeled. So you fill the first five minutes with jokes at a mile-a-minute pace to prove that you've got a ton of them. I understand the pressure to show off what you can do as soon as you can. There are so many options that, if something doesn't grab us right off the bat, we've got a dozen other things to try that might be more interesting. There's a lot of consumable media out there, and we can get to most of it at a push of a button. It seems like I've been hearing about people's (and my generation's, specifically) shrinking attention spans for years. That being said, when I watch TV-particularly when I watch sitcoms-I get a sense of.let's call it quiplash.Įvery media maker that I talk to-authors and publishers, playwrights, screenwriters, everyone-talks about how little time there is to catch a consumer's attention. A fast-paced exchange between sharp-witted characters is one of my favorite types of dialogue. I love the extra bits of backstory I get from these exchanges, the little quirks of character relationships that aren't dealt with in the main narrative.Īnd I love it when characters snipe at each other or share quick jokes. When I play a video game (which, for me, essentially means when I play either a Dragon Age game or a Mass Effect game), I spend a lot of time wandering around aimlessly just to hear the extra conversations the writers put in for the characters. I love to laugh, and I appreciate a well-executed joke.īanter between characters is one of my favorite things in narratives. It's a trait that makes me pretty good at giving presentations, a fair actor, and handy to have around in a situation that requires intense listening and digesting information.īut love-of-God, don't rely on me for a witty observation.Įven though I'm not particularly funny, I do think I have a decent sense of humor. I like to know and-to a degree-rehearse what I'm going to say before I say it.

quiplash characters

Part of it is anxiety-being funny, to me, is a very spontaneous thing, and I am so bad at being spontaneous in conversation. I don't, in general, think that I'm a very funny person.














Quiplash characters